Planning Board

The Town of Ocean Isle Beach Planning Board is comprised of seven members. Five of the members represent the incorporated city limits and shall be appointed by the Town Board of Commissioners.  Two members represent the extra-territorial jurisdiction (ETJ) zoning district  and shall be appointed by the Brunswick County Board of Commissioners.  The Planning Board meets once each month on the third Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. in the Betty S. Williamson Meeting Hall.  

It shall be the duty of the Planning Board, in general to:
  1. Make studies of the area within its jurisdiction and surrounding areas.
  2. Determine objectives to be sought in the development of the study area.
  3. Prepare and adopt plans for achieving these objectives.
  4. Develop and recommend policies, ordinances, administrative procedures and other means for carrying out plans the Board of Commissioners may direct.
  5. Advise the commissioners concerning the use and amendment of means for carrying out plans.
  6. Exercise any functions in the administration and enforcement of various means for carrying out plans the Board of Commissioners may direct.
  7. Perform any other related duties the commissioners may direct.
  8. Perform any specific task or duty designated by this chapter and any other code, ordinance or regulation enforced by the town.


  • Frank Williamson, Chairperson (ETJ Representative)
  • Becky Noble, Member
  • Larry Cheek, Member
  • Kris Crane, Member
  • Ernest Crews, Vice Chairperson (ETJ Representative)
  • Mike Allocco, Member
  • Kevin Dempsey, Member

Agendas & Minutes